villatore.blogg.se

Windows magicprefs equivilent
Windows magicprefs equivilent










windows magicprefs equivilent

For the most part, employees know what they’re talking about, there’s zero pressure, and they really seem to care. They’re a completely different shopping experience.

windows magicprefs equivilent

If you live near an Apple Store, you owe it to yourself to visit. Don’t choose stores based on service, either, because your service is handled by the Apple Store. Forget price shopping – shop for add-ons. Apple sets their prices the same across all retailers, but during promotions, retailers can throw in extras like an iPod or a case. Where to Buy Your MacĮverything about the Mac experience is different – starting with the shopping. I’d max out the memory during the purchase process. If you buy either laptop, know that the memory is soldered in and you can’t upgrade it yourself later. I like these machines for specialized purposes, but not as entry-level machines. I would avoid buying an iMac for your first Mac. The 13″ has a built-in SD card slot for instantly viewing photos from your camera, whereas the 11″ model doesn’t. You can just toss it in a bag without thinking because it’s so light and it’s built so well. It’s not as fast as the Pro, but it’s still really fast, and the battery life is incredible – around 12 hours. If you travel a lot (like 2 weeks or more per month), get a MacBook Air 13″. While you can indeed buy replacement SSDs from some vendors, this is a different form factor than typical SSDs – you can’t just grab one from Best Buy. (Don’t bother with the processor upgrade.) If your photos, videos, and music add up to more than 100GB, consider upsizing the SSD. If you travel every now and then, I recommend the Macbook Pro Retina with the 13″ display and the 256GB SSD for $1,499. Apple does sell a higher-powered desktop, the Mac Pro, but the cost is astronomical and you don’t need that kind of power unless you’re a graphics designer or video editing. It’s a tiny sub-$1000 computing appliance that performs well, is nearly silent, and works with your existing keyboard, monitor, and mouse. If your computer never leaves the desk, get a Mac Mini. This is strictly focused on what you should buy and what you should skip. This post isn’t about whether or not Apple products are overpriced, and I’m not going to discuss value here. So now that we’re a little more comfortable with running Windows in a window, let’s talk about the hardware we’re going to buy. 圆4 guests work like a champ – if you need to demo 64-bit VMs, virtualization on the Mac is way, way easier than hassling with running Windows Server on your desktop.(More on OS X’s cool backups in a minute.) Now, if I trash a demo VM during a presentation, I can just restore that one VM’s file from backup. It’s easy to freeze VMs for demos – Some of my demos involve a SQL Server being set up a certain way, but during my demos, I have a tendency to go offtopic and change things.If I need to test how something works between the two, like log shipping or mirroring, I can just boot up both VMs. It’s easy to work with old versions of SQL – I’ve got separate VMs with SQL Server 2000, 2005, 2008, 2008 R2, and 2012 so that I can test code and take screenshots.If the app leaves a trail of garbage in SQL Server, it doesn’t bother me, because I delete the VM when I’m done testing. It’s easy to deploy a new guest – when I want to play with a new 3rd party tool, I simply copy an existing virtual machine and install the app in the new copy.Now if I have to reboot the guest to install or fix something, I can keep working in email while the guest reboots. Bad apps don’t take me down altogether – I deal with a lot of beta and third party software that just isn’t as reliable as it should be.Today, I prefer doing my development and research work in virtual machines because: They both work better than you’d expect – you can drag & drop files between OS’s, make the OS boundary disappear altogether, and launch apps across OS’s.įor years, virtualization got a bad rap because it was slower, but today that’s just not the case. Parallels is faster and has more recent DirectX support, so if you’re doing graphics-heavy BI stuff like GeoFlow, get Parallels. There’s two products available to help you run Windows in a window, VMware Fusion and Parallels Desktop. Let’s get that out of the way right here and now with a quick demo video of VMware Fusion: If you’re reading this, you probably make a living working with Windows software, and you’re worried about how it’ll work. Update October 2013 – updated to include the current Apple laptop lineup. So you’re tired of craptastic plastic, and you’re noticing more and more Windows people toting around shiny metal computers? Here’s what you need to know.












Windows magicprefs equivilent